NAUI Coral Reef Specialty Course

Underwater Ecologist : Coral Reef

Coral reefs are primarily found in three major biogeographic regions of the world: The tropical western Atlantic (Caribbean), the Red Sea, and the Indo-Pacific region. Coral colonies are composed of thousands of tiny polyps, each with its own protective skeleton. The Underwater Ecologist (Coral Reef) specialty course focuses on the vertebrates and invertebrates of the complex living reef.

NAUIThis course examines coral zonation, seagrass beds, lagoons, mangroves, and the common reef algae, invertebrates and reef fishes.

Divers must be certified as NAUI Scuba Diver or the equivalent to enroll in the course.


Academics have a duration of minimum 2 hours.
The course extends over a period of 2 days.
It includes a minimum of 2 open water dives.

What’s Next?

NAUI offers a full range of specialty courses designed to enhance your enjoyment of the underwater world while minimizing risks associated with scuba diving. Continue your NAUI training with any of over 50 NAUI courses to choose from or enroll in the NAUI Advanced Scuba Diver course for a more comprehensive understanding of the knowledge behind the sport of diving and the marine environment.