Sudan's Red Sea

The Red Sea State ولاية البحر الأحمر (Wilayat Al Baḥr al Aḥmar) is one of the 18 states of Sudan. The original inhabitants of the state are Beja people, who constitute above 65% of the current population with lower wealth and power in the region. Geographically, in the east, bordering the state, is the Red Sea. Inland, mountains run from north to south, which are interrupted by arid plains. To the northwest is the Nubian Desert. The Siyal Islands are located in the disputed area between Egypt and Sudan in the northeast.